OBSESSION WEEK: Day 5, Personal

OBSESSION WEEK is drawing to a close. Dry your eyes, wipe your nose, put your chin up, and enjoy one last post.

This is where we talk about our personal obsessions. Basically, it’s the miscellaneous category, which as we all know, is the best category. It’s the file folder with the old love letters you just can’t seem to throw away, it’s the final moving box with the mop, your copy of Braveheart, and the $20 bill you found under the sofa, it’s the delicious goulash my mom would make every Saturday night. It’s the good things in life that buck categorization. The free spirits of our interests. And here are mine.

Time Management. At this point, seeing that I’m obsessed with time management, you might assume that I’m the most boring person in the world, and you might assume rightly, but hear me through. I’ve recently been on a heavily documented journey toward gaining control of my schedule. I’ve collected a vast amount of helpful information, but I need to mention David Allen’s Getting Things Done, the amazing advice of my friends, and the word “No” (or more precisely, “I’d really love to, but I can’t”). After putting lots of time management advice and tips into practice, I am more relaxed, I am more fun to be around, I have more time for the things I’m really obsessed with (my relationship with Jesus, youth ministry, writing), and there is even more potential on the horizon for a lifestyle that seems more alligned with the ways my body and brain were meant to function.

Personal hygiene. I grew up in a home that deemphasized physical appearance and even developed a sort of disdain for the pursuit of outward beauty. While I’m extremely thankful for many things that this mindset gave to me, I had an almost unholy nonchalance about stray hairs, white heads, and alligator skin. But once I realized that my husband spends more time on his nails than I do, I decided to change. I set aside one hour, once a week, when I give myself permission to focus completely on making myself beautiful. I file and paint my nails, I shave to a silky perfection, I pluck that cursed mutant hair on my chin, and do whatever else it takes to take care of my body. Along the way, I’ve found some things that make this a lot easier. One, I’ve already mentioned, is Shave Secret and as I tell anyone who asks, “Yes, it really does do what it says it will do”. Another is twin-line floss because it just works better than single-line. You may say I’ve been duped, that I’ve fallen prey to their gimmick, but I may tell you that you can’t knock it til you try it. The last thing is Ulta Nail Lacquer in Peach Parfait. It’s the perfect color for summer, not too pink, not to serious, just a tad edgy. It also lasts four to five days, which is pretty sensational.

Spending gift cards. I got the idea when I read Real Simple’s article on the Unprocrastination Day. (Fabulous article, by the way.) One of the things the author did was find all her unused gift cards and spend them. Now, doesn’t that sound fun? That’s what I thought! I’ve started getting rid of all the stupid $1.78 balances on random gift cards by buying whatever I need to get it out of my purse and into the trash. A little bonus to this decluttering is that you start getting little packages in the mail. Right now I’m looking at the cutest little recycled glass votive on which I didn’t spend a cent. This is the most fun I’ve ever had doing something productive.

What about you? What are some of your more personal obsessions at the moment?

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

One thought on “OBSESSION WEEK: Day 5, Personal

Leave a Reply

