OBSESSION WEEK: Day 4, Food

As anyone who has ever been on a diet can attest, it’s not hard to get obsessed about food. While I’m not depriving myself by any stretch of the imagination, there are some food items out there that are driving me bonkers.

First and foremost: eggs. They are glorious. Cheap, delicious, versatile, these little white and golden beauties have carried me through dinner, lunch, and breakfast for the past several months. This simple, hearty frittata is a lot of bang for your buck. I spent several weeks surviving on poached eggs and toast. One of my favorite new recipes involves eggs. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve fried an egg and put it on buttered whole grain toast with some salt and pepper for breakfast. I also have a new perfect formula for quiches, but my first effort was kind of disastrous when I paired ham with goat cheese. It was so salty it could have pickled a cheesecake, but I’m definitely going to have another go. At $0.78 a dozen at Aldi’s, eggs are about the cheapest meat I can come by, but I couldn’t be happier to forego the cows and pigs. Eggs really are incredible.

Next, apples and cheese. While I’ve long been pairing cheddar with my galas, recently I’ve been exposed to some other tasty combinations. The brie, Granny Smith, and honey Panini at Square One is so good you’ll want to marry it. The other night, I tossed some chopped apple and gorgonzola with some romaine and drizzled it with a white wine vinaigrette. Logan said it could be put in the rotation. (That’s basically the highest compliment a dish could ever receive.) I look forward to hearing about other exciting apple/cheese combos.

S’mores. This obsession is a little more embarrassing. It’s not a recent obsession. It’s been going on for quite some time. A little known fact about Aanna is that she always keeps her pantry stocked with the makings of a good s’more. Actually, they don’t even have to be good. I’ll take a withered marshmallow, a stale graham, and cheapo chocolate, zap it in the microwave, and be a happy woman. I don’t know what’s come over me! I didn’t even like s’mores as a child. I once said, “If I ever had to gain fifty pounds for a movie, you know, like Russell Crowe, I’d gain it all on s’mores.”

What about you? What are your food obsessions?

(Photos: S’mores)

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

5 thoughts on “OBSESSION WEEK: Day 4, Food

  1. I have long since had an obsession with Galas and chedder cheese. This is my most favoritest snack ever.

    Eggs, I have had a constant love afair with eggs as long as I can remember. But my most resent Egg obsession is (So I have named it) The Bacon-chedder-egg thick burger. I put 2 scarmble eggs fried into pattys and cut into quarters. In between a piece of whole wheat bread (halved). Layered with sharp chedder, and two slices of bacon. I might even throw a few fried onions peppers in there if I’m feeling daring. It is the single most filling, tastful, fantastic sandwich in the entire universe. I have been coming up with tons of new ways to use eggs in meals because like you said they are super cheap, delicious, and filling!

Leave a Reply

