OBSESSION WEEK: Day 1, Music

Last weekend, I tweeted this:

#currentobsessions
Music: Adele
TV: TopGear
Film: JaneEyre
Food: Eggs
Personal: Time Management

What are yours?

I decided that since I liked these topics (read: am obsessed with these topics), I would spend a little more time being obsessed with them. So, my friends, thus ensues OBSESSION WEEK. I’m letting myself go down the rabbit hole of my own passions and I’m inviting you to fall in with me. But please, don’t come along unless you’re bringing along a few of your own as well.

I am obsessed with Adele. Her voice. Her vibe. Her transparent lyrics. Her sultry melodies. I’ve already posted this song once this week and I’m going to do it again.

Now, a blast from the past. In high school, my friend Andi and I were obsessed with this song for about a month and a half. I even learned the piece on the piano and played it for her on her birthday. (Looking back, this is both creepy and weird, considering…) The song popped into my head the other day and I’m loving it all over again.

Logan once said that this song is timeless. You can imagine it being written thirty years ago and yet it also feels like it could be performed fifty years in the future and the lyrics and music would still ring true.

The Decemberists is a band that commonly makes me cry. Their newest offerings are not exception and this song gets me every time. Also, this particular version features Sara Watkins, who frankly can’t be featured enough.

I’m not going to explain this next song, because I can’t. I’m just obsessed with it. It kind of strikes me as brilliant.

Now tell me, friends, what are your current musical obsessions?

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

6 thoughts on “OBSESSION WEEK: Day 1, Music

  1. Adele soeffortlessly she creates deep, warm spaces with her voice. It’s rich and full and she turns everything into something that might taste good.

    I know that you know.

    Cake makes me smile, anytime I hear them.

    But I am a musical dork and am just as likely to have “Les Mis” shoved in my player as “Love the Way You Lie” by Rihanna, which is the song I CRANK when we’re in the car. I have no idea why.

    Off to listen to the “Decemberists” now…thanks for them!

    1. Oooo, I could definitely have an entire post dedicated to the songs from soundtracks: Lord of the Rings, Gladiator, and definitely Les Mis!

Leave a Reply

