Rubber On Road

I received buckets of valuable insight on time management last week. This week, it was time for the rubber to meet the road and to put things into practice.

Keeping a time log has been an enlightening experience. First, you’ll be amazed at the amount of things you keep yourself from doing, just so you won’t have to write it in the log. For example, “30 min. looking at new West Elm catalogue” is not on my time log, but that’s only because I have a time log. This principle was also true for Twitter and Facebook. It just magically took away the temptation. Also, I discovered that feeding my dogs takes a whopping ten minutes and getting ready without a shower a staggering twenty-five minutes. I had underestimated both those times, but no more!

Deciding to check my e-mail once or twice a day has been very helpful. The main reason is that I actually deal with the e-mails in my inbox, instead of just viewing them and telling myself, “I’ll write her back later”. So I’m actually being more productive in less time.

I’ve started praying about time management. There’s no way I can figure this doozy out on my own.

Putting a time-cap on my projects has been the biggest and best change of the week. When I get home from work, I spend thirty minutes cleaning the house (doing dishes, making the bed, watering the flowers…). No more, no less. This is usually not enough time to do everything I’d like to do around the house. However, I like this idea because before, I would either not spend any time cleaning up, knowing how much time it would take, or I would get to cleaning and not stop for the rest of the afternoon. This way, I’m getting all the recurring things out of the way (dishes, bed, ect…) plus I have about five minutes to work on a little project. I have also given myself one hour for domestic duties (bills, errands, e-mails) and one hour to write. You can imagine the amount of work I have been able to accomplish each afternoon.

I’m watching less TV. I don’t have time anymore.

I usually use Things as a project manager, but I have just downloaded Wunderlist, which is basically the same thing, only prettier. Also, you can share lists, which means that Logan and I can share a “chore” list and when he checks off “clean the pool”, it will automatically check it off on my list as well. If I ever get an iPhone, the possibilities will truly be endless.

When my good friend had emergency surgery, I went to visit her in the hospital. There are some things that are just more important than housework, productivity, and *gasp* writing.

I have decided what my writing is. But I can’t tell you right now. Because it’s a surprise.

Other things that saved me time or helped me this week:

Dry shampoo kicks booty. You save time, save your hair, and end up looking like Brigitte Bardot. It’s a win/win, really.

Shave Secret. Shaved a good five to ten minutes off my morning regimen because I now only have to shave once every three days. Plus, with its scent of menthol and cloves, you get the impression that James Bond is in the vicinity, which is a very helpful thought.

Seeing this To Do List put things in perspective for me. I am not the busiest person in the universe. Repeat. I am not the busiest person in the universe.

(Photo courtesy of Female First)

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

3 thoughts on “Rubber On Road

  1. “I’ll have what she’s having.”
    Seriously. This was an inspiring article. Practical advice that I want to start doing as well!

Leave a Reply

