Psalm 130, A Paraphrase

My head is spinning
but my one thought is You
Please be listening
Please pay attention
though my cry for help is preposterous

I’m reminded that you’re not stingy with
the wrongs done to You
You are not Ebenezer Scrooge
carefully cataloguing every wrong thing
anyone has ever done
Because if you were
it would be a long book
and we would die before the end

But something even more terrifying and overwhelming
is the blanket of forgiveness
with which you smother us

I don’t want to move. I am still
Waiting for just one word from Your lips
I don’t want to move. I am still
Like a wife in the lobby of a hospital
waiting for the outcome

Children of dust, children of the struggle
Calm yourselves
Wrap yourselves in the smothering blanket
Read the empty ledger books
Listen to the report of full health

He’s going to take care of everything.

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

5 thoughts on “Psalm 130, A Paraphrase

  1. forgiveness makes me weak and able to rest it is so strong. love you and thank you for the reminder of God’s richest forgiveness.~Mom

Leave a Reply

