Two Things

1. I’m on a quest for moderation.
2. Community leads to less control over your menu

I'll expand:

1. I'm on a quest for moderation. My usual method of conduct is somewhere between mad frenzy and obsession. In fact, Logan has discouraged me from cigarettes, alcohol, and the Twilight series because of my tendency towards addiction. Last fall I decided that I wanted to get in shape and lose some weight, so I went on a fruit and veggie diet and trained for a half marathon. Two years ago I wanted to finish my novel, so I rewrote the entire thing in a month. Now, after I’ve achieved my goal weight and got my novel to a good place, I'm at a loss as to what to do. Without some crazy regimen, I'm a complete bum. Dessert is a daily occurrence and I'm lucky to put in two hours a week at my proverbial typewriter. Once again, my tendency is to get back on the diet and become like a territorial German Shepherd whenever anyone encroaches on my writing time. But I keep thinking about Solomon saying, "It is good to grasp the one and not let go of the other. The man who fears God will avoid all extremes." So I’m on a quest for moderation.

2. Community leads to less control over you menu. For example, last Monday afternoon I was writing up my grocery list and realized with consternation that Logan and I were not eating a single dinner meal alone that entire week. But as I began to think about it, I admitted to myself that this is exactly what we had been working towards. Constant community. It really is a beautiful thing to share meals, experiences, good days and bad, with people, because nothing else will get you close to people, faster, than eating with them. I don’t know what is it about eating that effects us this way, but I suspect it’s why Mark Moore took an entire lecture period in The Life of Christ to describe Jesus’ eating habits. The way that Jesus ate was the way that Jesus interacted with people in general. To eat with someone is to accept that person. It is to let go of what you want to eat and to hold on to friendship. Mike says nearly every week that we should all be having people over for dinner on a regular basis. It’s a nearly magic formula for making friends, showing love, and building community.

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

3 thoughts on “Two Things

  1. I heard long ago that the word “companion” comes from the Italian (therefore Latin) “with” and “bread”. Have you heard this before?

Leave a Reply

