Lessons on How to Make Friends with the Sun

The heat index today is supposedly 108 degrees. I took Mabel for a walk this afternoon and I think I nearly killed her. I almost died myself.

Walking through my neighborhood, I realized that people have lots of different ways of dealing with the heat. Many people were inside in the air conditioning. There were a few boys playing basketball in the streets with their shirts off. Some people go driving with their windows down. Behind the fence of one house I heard loud, festive music and the thump, thump, thump of a pinata meeting it’s match. At the church this morning, we played water games with 35 children. I’m about to go take a cold shower. If I had time, I would be swimming instead.

I’m slowly getting educated on how to deal with this heat. Lesson #1: Don’t take your dog for a walk in the middle of a heat wave. (I’m waiting for you to send me a swarm of “duhs” in the comment boxes.)

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

3 thoughts on “Lessons on How to Make Friends with the Sun

  1. I used to love the heat of summer and now it does not love me. I stand at my window
    amazed as I watch the crews clean up storm debris in 100+ heat, watch the people who
    live with no air condtioning fan themselves, watch my husband come home from working on a roof crew all day and then mow the yard, my 13 year old dog walk himself in the backyard
    because I asked him too. He is old and sick and he still goes on, in the heat. I can’t. Does
    that mean that I am worthless, useless, YES….in the south, it means YES. Depression
    over heat intolerance…God is thinking, Child,have you learned nothing? Your dog trusts
    you more you trust me! DUH

Leave a Reply

