The Artist’s Way – Week 3

Creativity is…seeing something that doesn’t exist already.  You need to find out how you can bring it into being and that way be a playmate with God.

– Michele Shea

When I read this quote, my first thought is about the courage that it takes, the courage and the strength, to bring something into being.  I think of times when I’ve had an idea for a short story or an essay, but I had no clue how to bring it into being.  I felt like I didn’t have the strength or the skill.  Or I felt afraid that if I created it that people I loved would hate it.  Many times I’ve abandoned the idea.

But when I abandon it, I stand in the same place, instead of going somewhere with God.  Logan preached last week about “the obedient journey”.  His premise was that obedience to Jesus is less like following a list of rules and more like following a guide through a treacherous wilderness.  If you obey Jesus, you are taken from point A to point B.

So this is what I’m thinking: when I get an idea, it’s from God.  (Or at least it comes from a place deep within me that was created by God.  And then it’s still from Him.)  I’ve been given the idea to act upon it.  To act upon it is an act of obedience to God.  It means He’ll take me somewhere.  It also means that He’ll supply the strength and the courage and the skill to complete it.  Sometimes He doesn’t give me as much as I wish He would, but He gives me enough.  And as my good friend Lizzy said, “He likes it”.

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

Leave a Reply

