It’s scary to tear off the band-aid.

The fright is like a grappling vine,

fragile and small, becoming binding

as I realize my shallow heart

my tightly shut eyes, my anger.

I cringe at the thought of others

making the same discovery.

I have certainly not been attracted to this new acquaintance.

They won’t either

How will I be admired if I’m honest?

How will I be liked if I stop hiding?

My dark, scabby heart needs to stay

beneath the band-aid.

It would be painful to tear it off.

People would gasp and turn away.

And then I’d have to be very careful

in order for it to heal.

Besides, most people are covered in band-aids.

Or are they?

Am I the only one?

Would it be sillier to take it off or to keep it on, I wonder?

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

2 thoughts on “It’s scary to tear off the band-aid.

Leave a Reply

