Missionary Shout Out

One recent Sunday morning our church sang “We Will Dance”. 

The chorus goes:

We will dance on the streets that are golden
The glorious bride and the great Son of Man
And every tongue and tribe and nation
Will join in the song of the lamb

I love this song because it creates such a beautiful image of what it’s going to be like when the Bride of Christ is finally married to Jesus and there is the celebration of the ages.  As we were singing this song together, I had a whole bunch of thoughts plow into my mind all at once.

I thought about finally getting to dwell with my loved ones in heaven.

I thought about how I don’t get to live with most of my family and a lot of my dearest friends because we’ve all dedicated ourselves to seeing that every tongue and tribe and nation hears the Gospel.

I thought about the utter joy, the unspeakable fulfillment, the overflowing perfection of getting to worship with those that we have brought to Christ before the throne.  I thought about my friend Caitlin, who gave away her beautiful sleigh bed and the bookcase she made with her father in order to live among the people of Japan.  How amazing it will be to see her before the throne, dancing and singing surrounded by black haired, almond-eyed believers.  I thought about my friend Maria, who endured the condescension and anger of her in-laws, so that she and her husband could give up a life in suburbia in order to live in inner-city Kansas City.  Even though I might never get to live near her, won’t we both consider it “worth it” to see her holding hands with black, white, and tan children, dancing before the Father?

I actually thought of so many of you.  Ellie, Michael, Emilie, Eddie.  Abi.  Tyler and Margo.  Timmy and Kate.  Rachel, Nick, Lindsay and LT.  Jay and Steve.  Leah.  There are thousands more.

How I long to be with all of you right now.  To know what it’s like to live in the same city and eat dinner together and go shopping and minister together.  But as I sang this song on Sunday, it became very clear to me how much joy will be ours and how very rewarded we will be to stand within the crowd of every tongue, tribe and nation, and to know that we spent our lives so that those who God called would be there.

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

3 thoughts on “Missionary Shout Out

  1. i cry as i read this. With headed away from the States and thus my family, you touched on the intense ache for wanting to live near you all but the intense hope of heaven. Love you.

Leave a Reply

