Armadillo

I saw an armadillo yesterday.

Logan and I were driving home after a long night and Logan saw something out of the corner of his eye.

“That was an armadillo!” he said.

I jerked my head over my shoulder and saw a tail like the end of a cornucopia sliding behind a car.

“Have you ever seen an armadillo?” Logan said.

“No!”

“Serious?” Logan cried. “That’s it, we’re turning around!”  He swerved into the nearest driveway and pulled back out into the road as quickly as you can with a 20-year-old, 15 passenger church van.

We had seen the armadillo waddling into the parking lot of an auto body shop, so we started driving through the rows of cars until finally, we saw it.  It was about the size of a raccoon, but it was all gray and looked just like I imagined an armadillo would look.  But it was weird.  The only armadillos I could ever remember having seen where cartoons.  I really couldn’t remember seeing a photograph of one.  So when I saw that little gray armored rat sniffing around a tire, I had the strangest feeling that some cartoon character had entered into my world, like in Space Jam or something.

I stared at it in awe for several moments.

“Welcome to Texas,” Logan said.

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

2 thoughts on “Armadillo

  1. when i was four, my dad gave me a postcard of an armadillo. for some reason i treasured that thing. i put it up in my play kitchen and watched it while i “did the dishes.” silly little animals.

Leave a Reply

