I Think We Need To Take A Break…

I spent the last thirty-one days on the rewrite of my novel.  I’ve been working on this bloody thing for around six years now, so lately I have been scurrying to finish it up and to finish it up quickly.  During the past month, I spent anywhere from one to two hours a day writing, and although this wasn’t a huge amount of time, it was enough to completely immerse me in the characters, the plot, and the world of the story.  Now, two days after printing off the last page, I’m experiencing a strange regret.

I miss them.

I miss Kate and Gavin and Joon and even evil Mr. Park.  I don’t want to leave them for very long, in case we lose some of our intimacy with each other, or in case I forget what they look like.  Every book on writing  that I’ve ever read says that at the end of a draft you should put the story aside for at least a couple days.  I used to think this would be easy, but now I know otherwise.

However, I think I understand why it’s a good thing for me to stay away from them for awhile.  The point is for me to forget what they look like and for me to not feel like Kate is my best friend.  Otherwise, I wouldn’t be able to find out what’s wrong with her or have the courage to kill her (just kidding).  But if I take a break from my unhealthy relationship with my characters, I’ll have a more objective view of them and I’ll be a better editor when I start doing work with a red pen.

So really, I’m writing this blog not because I particularly needed to communicate my rather insignificant revelation to you, but just to keep me away from my story.  I’ll let it lie.

For now.

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

2 thoughts on “I Think We Need To Take A Break…

  1. Did you know that I edit/write/ghost write as a profession? If you want an outside opinion on how things mesh – feel free to e-mail me.

    When writing good fiction, the characters do become real – both to you and to the reader. I remember fondly a book one time that really captured the reality of this strange writing phenomenon.

    I had just finished reading a chapter and was heading out to run errands and KNEW that the author I was working with had hit on something great when in the course of my “traveling dialogue” with God I started to include the main character and his current plight into my time of prayer. =)

  2. I would LOVE your help sometime! I still have several months of editing ahead of me, but after that, it would be so helpful to get some outside advice. Thanks for offering!

    I love your story about praying for the characters. I had a similar experience while watching “The Fellowship of the Ring” for the first time. I think that fiction is one of the most fabulous things on this earth.

Leave a Reply

