Breakthroughs

A List of Recent, Personal Breakthroughs for Aanna “Patty” Greer:

  1. I have been ardently desiring that all of my furniture be dark wood.  As the pieces currently in my possession are a somewhat motley crew, I was telling Logan about my grand schemes of stripping, scrubbing, varnishing, and painting.  He waited until I was done, then asked me, (and I remember this clearly because his face was very close to mine) “Why can’t we just embrace our eclectic nature?”  Since that moment I have begun to see my possessions in a different light.  My black, paint splotched bedside table that was going to be the first to go has now an endearingly ragamuffin look to it.  The neon green throw pillows, instead of clashing, now seem adventurous.  I have lost my raging need for a grand painting above the couch.  I like my stuff.
  2. I found Darren Aronofsky’s blog.  No more need be said.
  3. I stood in front of the floor length mirror in our bedroom.  Closing my eyes, I pretended that I was in the presence of someone I disliked.  Then I opened my eyes.  I looked really mean.  I closed my eyes again.  This time I pretended that I was about to ask someone a favor.  When I opened my eyes, I looked seductive.  Finally, I closed my eyes and remembered a stressful situation I once found myself in.  Upon opening my eyes, I encountered Quasimodo.  Thanks to Dallas Willard and Jan Johnson, I’m starting to see how my body communicates perfectly well what my underlying condition of the heart is, even if my mind and mouth wish people to think differently.  Yikes.
  4. During communion a couple weeks ago, the Lord reminded me of a dream I had nearly six months ago and gave it meaning.  What proceeded during the next twenty-four hours was one of the most intimate encounters I have ever had with the love of God.  It is still too raw for me to share with anyone, but I hope to one day.
About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

One thought on “Breakthroughs

Leave a Reply

