December Eighteenth

I’m pretty sure that Logan and I are perhaps getting closer to knowing in which direction (north, east, south or west) we will set out on December eleventh. That is the date on which Logan’s internship ends, but until this point, we have not concretely made up our minds as to what we’ll be doing next. We’ve thought about traveling, writing, preaching, going to school, baking, missionary-ing, and other such varied and exciting options. But now that we’ve laid down the list of potentials, we’ve discovered that that was indeed the easy part.

Making decisions is what sets apart the bold and the meek, the smart and the stupid, the world-movers and the sleepers. This decision making process is, in fact, so difficult at times that Logan finds me in dark corners, humming and sucking my thumb. But he always faithfully drags me out, sits me in a chair, brushes the hair out of my eyes and says, “What the heck are we going to do on December eleventh?!?!?!?!”

Now, I could give you a list of specific job opportunities, etc. that we are picking from, but I believe it will be more fun for everyone involved if we just surprise you on that fateful day with our choice. Besides, I’ve been enjoying a specific conversation that springs up quite often. It goes something like this–
Friend: “Aanna, want to get together sometime this December?”

Me: “No, actually, I’m moving.”

Friend: “Moving! My word! Where are you moving to?”

Me: “We don’t know.”

Friend: “You don’t know?”

Me: “Nope.”

Friend: “Just decided that you were leaving Saint Louis?”

Me: “Yes. On December eleventh to be exact.”

Friend: “But you don’t know where to?”

Me: “Nope.”

Friend: “No idea whatsoever?”

Me: “None.”

(Pause.)

Friend: “Well….good luck with that.”

I think I take pleasure in dialogs like these because they have a sort of Abrahamic quality that strikes me as satisfying. I’m okay with our situation. God will take care of us, even when there doesn’t seem to be a logical answer, even when we’re a bit naive or lazy, even when it seems like none of our prayers are being answered, even when it seems like everyone has a plan for us except us.

So, my friends, I am cheerfully anticipating December eleventh, the date on which Logaanna’s destiny will be revealed and our compass will have a setting.

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

4 thoughts on “December Eighteenth

  1. Aanna, I love you. How are you my sister? Please email me soon. I have SO much to tell you and I want to hear about you. Love, Leah

Leave a Reply

