Extra! Extra! Read all about it!

I decided that it was high time for some news. As I have mentioned countless times in conversations, e-mails, etc., Logan and I aren’t good communicators. We love talking about what’s in our heads, but we’re a bit clumsy at comunicating the events of our lives. So this is my brave attempt at NEWS.

Chaos and CreativityLatest news:Tonight is the kick-off for .deW, Harvester Student Ministries’ Wednesday night program. Logan has been working like a madman (or should I say workaholic) over the past 2 months on the curriculum, training and resources for this new program. HSM has printed off around 1400 fliers for the students to hand out to their friends, so we’re hoping for a big turnout. Highlights of the night include basketball and volleyball tournaments, Battle of the Bands, and lots of food.

Not quite as latest news: Last Saturday Logan’s parents called and said they were coming for the weekend. Logan was so excited (he was the first to hear) that he turned it into a big surprise for me. I was so excited when Sterling and Dixie accidentally spilled the beans that my face flushed red and I got all bouncy. Then I had to get bouncy and try to make my face flush red again when I “found out” later so that I wouldn’t ruin Logan’s surprise. All that to say that our expectations were not disappointed. We had an excellent time with Scott and Suzanne. Some of the highlights:

-Going out to Red Lobster together, along with Sterling and Dixie, their son, and his girlfriend. I had a great shrimp cocktail and the cheddar biscuits were definitely a favorite. We all laughed and had a good time.

-Visiting the Arch. We walked down a beautiful tree lined path leading up to the amazing structure. Suzanne and I decided it would be a great place to come for a picnic or some personal journal time.

-Staying in the hotel with Scott and Suzanne. They rented a hotel room for Logan and I so we could have our own little vacation, too. The four of us stayed up far into the night talking, during which time Suzanne and I completely plundered the Drury Inn’s supply of tea.

-Eating at P.F. Chang’s. We’ve eaten here so many times that the majority of the meal we spent reminiscing about past experiences at Chang’s. (As a side-note…I’m forever amazed at the yummy goodness of their lettuce wraps.)

Not even remotely latest news: A couple weeks ago Logan and I got to drive up to Grinnell for a couple days. We enjoyed the old favorites: hockey in the church gym, 4-wheeling, super good Momma food, talking/wrestling in the living room, Knock-out, games, and a movie every night (personal favorite for the weekend was An Ideal Husband.)

Okay, so I know I prayed and prayed before I ever met Logan that my husband and my father would be good friends. But when the first morning we were there Dad invites Logan to go on a business trip with him for the morning, and leaves me without a word, I wonder if those prayers weren’t answered a little in the extreme. Actually, it brings me endless happiness that my husband and my family love and like each other so much.

Logan and I would love to hear from you, too. Tell us what’s happening!

About Aanna

I'm a writer and blogger who lives in southwest Missouri with my husband and daughter. I love to write about fashion, design, health, food, sex, relationships, and Jesus. You can e-mail me at aannagreer(at)gmail(dot)com.

4 thoughts on “Extra! Extra! Read all about it!

Leave a Reply

